A moment

i am standing in the sunlight in Austin. The warmth is delicious, and after being diagnosed with anxiety and depression, I’m happy to take this time between sessions at the conference I’m attending.

That’s all, and that’s enough: to be warm, bask in the mayhem of traffic on the street, traffic I’m only observing not riding in, to hear the conversations of fellow academics querying and furthering the talks they’ve just attended, the distant sound of construction happening elsewhere in the city, all overplayed with glorious, glorious sunshine.

And the little ladybug who dropped by to say hello, explored my hand, then fluttered off.

 

I will take this moment, this pause, and I will enjoy it and remember it when the doubts raise their heads, and the nervous tensions begin to flare, and I’m overwhelmed and tired and positive I don’t have enough intellect, calm, ability to face the situation at hand.

2 thoughts on “A moment

Leave a Reply

